Events


FGP offers a variety of events throughout the year, including:

  • Academic and professional development opportunities
  • Dinners and other social events within the MIT community as well as the greater Cambridge/Boston communities
  • Study breaks with upperclass members of the community
  • Discussions on the first gen identity and opportunities to chat with folks with similar experiences
  • Opportunities for students to meet with first generation MIT faculty and administrators

You can also read about some of our other recent events prior academic years.


Events are posted as scheduled and below are currently scheduled upcoming events.

Zoom links for each event will be sent via email to both the fgp-current and fgp_firstyears listservs. To join either listserv, please email Taylor Pons at tpons@mit.edu.

  • Thurs. February 18, 7pm EDT- Meet + Greet over Q-week
  • Wed. February 24, 6-7pm EDT- Professional Primers for First Generation College Students (register through Handshake)
  • Thurs. February 25, 6-7pm EDT- Preparing for the xFair for First Generation College Students (register through Handshake)
  • Tues. March 23, 5pm EDT- How to Budget your Money $$
  • Thurs. April 1, 12pm EDT- How to Apply for Financial Aid
  • Tues. April 6, 5pm EDT- event with Dr. Anthony Abraham Jack, author of "The Privileged Poor, How Elite Colleges Are Failing Disadvantaged Students", co-hosted by MIT Reads and Office of the First Year
  • Fri. April 16, 12pm- FLI@MIT Panel @ CP*
  • Sat. May 1, 12p- Virtual Talent Show
  • Thurs. May 6, 6pm EDT- Student Research Showcase
  • Thurs. May 20, 5pm EDT- Senior Stoll Reception