First Year Student, Advisor and Associate Advisor Awards

Congratulations to the 2019 Recipients!

Each spring, we present awards to celebrate the outstanding contributions of first year students. their advisors, and associate advisors. The 2019 recipients were recognized for their excellence on May 16th. 

2019 First Year Student Award Recipients

  • Sophia Fang —  Fine Arts 
  • William Luo — Academics
  • Amanda Vanegas — Research
  • Ritaank Tiwari— Leadership
  • Yu Jing Chen — Leadership
  • Cristian Rios — Service 
  • Stacy Godfreey-Igwe — Diversity & Culture 
  • Eva Then— Athletics/Womens
  • ​Robert Law— Athletics/Mens

2019 First Year Advisor Award Recipients

  • Creative Advising Activity Award: Prof. Alan Oppenheim, Electrical Engineering & Computer Science
  • Outstanding Rookie Advisor Award: Prof. Andrew Babbin, Earth, Atmospheric and Planetary Sciences
  • Outstanding Veteran Advisor Award: Prof. William Minicozzi, Mathematics
  • Alan J. Lazarus (1953) Excellence in Advising Award: Prof. Lorna J. Gibson, Materials Science and Engineering
  • Excellence in Mentoring Award: Prof. Martin A. Schmidt, Electrical Engineering & Computer Science
  • Student Champion Award: Elizabeth Vogel Taylor, PhD, Chemistry
  • Innovative Seminar Award: Prof. Yufei Zhao, Mathematics

2019 Outstanding Associate Advisor Award Recipient

  • Katie O’Nell, Class of 2019, Brain and Cognitive Sciences