Skip to Content

First Year Student, Advisor and Associate Advisor Award Recipients

Congratulations to the 2023 Recipients!

The Office of the First Year recognizes the outstanding contributions first-year students, associate advisors and first-year advisors.  A ceremony to celebrate the accomplishments of our 2023 award recipients was held on May 9, 2023.

First Year Student Awards

  • Athletics:
    Sonia Seliger
    Alaina Kolli
    Harry Sillifant
    Lucky Deignan
  • Academics & Research:
    Larissa Ma
  • Diversity & Culture:
    Hannah Agwunobi
    Kenny Logan
  • Leadership
    Jack Gray

Outstanding Associate Advisor Awards

  • Seminar Advising: Angeles Cibils Bernardes
  • Traditional Advising: Katherine “Katie” Miner

First Year Advisor Awards

  • Alan J. Lazarus (1953) Excellence in Advising: Professor Mingda Li, Department of Nuclear Science and Engineering
  • Student Champion: Professor Daniel L. M. Suess, Department of Chemistry
  • Creativity in Advising: Maxine Jonas, PhD, Department of Biological Engineering
  • Excellence in Mentoring: Dr. Gabrielle Stoy, Experimental Study Group
  • Outstanding Veteran Advisor: Rebecca Tyler, Institute Events
  • FLI Student Support and Advocacy Award: J. Alex Hoyt, Office of the First Year