Transfer Credit Examiners

This list shows current departmental transfer credit examiners, but contacts are subject to change. If you have trouble reaching an examiner, contact the appropriate Undergraduate Academic Administrator. For other questions or concerns, please email Transfer Credit Staff (

1: Civil and Environmental Engineering

Contact: Kiley Clapper, 617-253-7119, 1-290,

2: Mechanical Engineering

US Universities: Contact: Jared Embelton, Academic Administrator, 617-253-2305, 1-110,

Universities outside the US: Prof. Gareth McKinley, 617-258-0754, 3-254, gareth@MIT.EDU

3: Materials Science and Engineering

Prof. Juejun Hu; Contact: Angelita Mireles, 617-253-3302, 6-107,

4: Architecture

  • History of Architecture, Art and Design: Lauren Jacobi, 3-305A,
  • Art, Culture and Technology: Gediminas Urbonas, E15-238,
  • Architecture Studies, Computation, and Building Technology: Les Norford, 5-418,

5: Chemistry

Contact: Mitch Moise, 6-205,

6-1: Electrical Engineering

Prof. Lizhong Zheng, 36-660,

6-3: Computer Science

Dr. Katrina LaCurts, 38-587,

7: Biology

Dr. Janice Chang; contact Joshua Stone, 68-120,

8: Physics

Contact: Catherine Modica, 4-315,

9: Brain and Cognitive Sciences

Contact: Jillian Auerbach, 46-2005,

10: Chemical Engineering

Dr. Barry Johnston, 66-368,

11: Urban Studies and Planning

Dr. Ezra Glenn, 7-337,

12: Earth, Atmospheric, and Planetary Sciences

Dr. Megan Jordan, 54-910,

14: Economics

Prof. Jeffrey Harris, E52-422,

15: Management Science

Prof. James Orlin; Contact: Natalie Petit (

16: Aeronautics and Astronautics

Prof. Jonathan How; Contact: Marie Stuppard, 617-253-2279, 33-202B,

17: Political Science

Prof. Richard Samuels, E40-455,

18: Mathematics (18.01-18.06)

Mr. Christopher Ryba,

18: Mathematics (all other subjects)

Prof. Alan Edelman, 2-349,

20: Biological Engineering

Contact: Dalia Fares, 16-267,

21A: Anthropology

Prof. Stefan Helmreich, E53-335Q, sgh2​

21G: Global Languages

21H: History

Prof. Eric Goldberg, E51-290, egoldber@MIT.EDU

21L: Literature

Prof. David Thorburn, 14N-433,

21M: Music

Charles Shadle, 10-263,

21M: Theater Arts

Prof. Jay Scheib, W97-165,

21W: Writing and Humanistic Studies

Prof. James Paradis E15-328, jparadis​

22: Nuclear Science and Engineering

Prof. Michael Short, 24-204,

24-1: Philosophy

Prof. Justin Khoo, 32-D962,

24-2: Linguistics

Prof. Donca Steriade, 32-D828,


Mr. Max Price, 8-436,

CMS: Comparative Media Studies

Prof. James Paradis E15-328, jparadis​

History of Architecture and Art

Prof. Lauren Jacobi, 3-305A,


Prof. Laura Schulz, 46-4011B,

STS: Science, Technology, and Society

Prof. William Deringer, E51-188,

Women's and Gender Studies

Prof. Elizabeth Wood, 617-253-3-3060, E51-282,

For information on Humanities, Arts, and Social Science (HASS) Transfer Credit Examiners in fields not listed above, see the full list on the HASS website.