Transfer Credit Examiners


This list shows current departmental transfer credit examiners, but contacts are subject to change. If you have trouble reaching an examiner, contact the appropriate Undergraduate Academic Administrator. For other questions or concerns, please email Transfer Credit Staff (ap@mit.edu).

1: Civil and Environmental Engineering

Contact: Kiley Clapper, 617-253-7119, 1-290, kclapper@mit.edu

2: Mechanical Engineering

US Universities: Contact: Jared Embelton, Academic Administrator, 617-253-2305, 1-110, jarede@mit.edu

Universities outside the US: Prof. Gareth McKinley, 617-258-0754, 3-254, gareth@MIT.EDU

3: Materials Science and Engineering

Prof. Juejun Hu; Contact: Angelita Mireles, 617-253-3302, 6-107,angelita@mit.edu

4: Architecture

  • History of Architecture, Art and Design: Lauren Jacobi, 3-305A, ljacobi@mit.edu
  • Art, Culture and Technology: Gediminas Urbonas, E15-238, urbonas@mit.edu
  • Architecture Studies, Computation, and Building Technology: Les Norford, 5-418, lnorford@mit.edu

5: Chemistry

Contact: Mitch Moise, 6-205, mmoise@mit.edu

6-1: Electrical Engineering

Prof. Lizhong Zheng, 36-660, lizhong@mit.edu

6-3: Computer Science

Dr. Katrina LaCurts, 38-587, lacurts@mit.edu

7: Biology

Dr. Janice Chang; contact Joshua Stone, 68-120, stonej@mit.edu

8: Physics

Contact: Catherine Modica, 4-315, cmodica@mit.edu

9: Brain and Cognitive Sciences

Contact: Jillian Auerbach, 46-2005, jilliana@mit.edu

10: Chemical Engineering

Dr. Barry Johnston, 66-368, bsjohnst@mit.edu

11: Urban Studies and Planning

Dr. Ezra Glenn, 7-337, eglenn@mit.edu

12: Earth, Atmospheric, and Planetary Sciences

Dr. Megan Jordan, 54-910, mkjordan@mit.edu

14: Economics

Prof. Jeffrey Harris, E52-422, jeffrey@mit.edu

15: Management Science

Prof. James Orlin; Contact: Natalie Petit (npetit@mit.edu).

16: Aeronautics and Astronautics

Prof. Jonathan How; Contact: Marie Stuppard, 617-253-2279, 33-202B, mas@mit.edu

17: Political Science

Prof. Richard Samuels, E40-455, samuels@mit.edu

18: Mathematics (18.01-18.06)

Mr. Christopher Ryba, transfercredit18@math.mit.edu

18: Mathematics (all other subjects)

Prof. Alan Edelman, 2-349, edelman@math.mit.edu

20: Biological Engineering

Contact: Dalia Fares, 16-267, dalia@mit.edu

21A: Anthropology

Prof. Stefan Helmreich, E53-335Q, sgh2​@mit.edu

21G: Global Studies and Languages

21H: History

Prof. Eric Goldberg, E51-290, egoldber@MIT.EDU

21L: Literature

Prof. David Thorburn, 14N-433, thorburn@mit.edu

21M: Music

Charles Shadle, 10-263, cskull@mit.edu

21M: Theater Arts

Prof. Jay Scheib, W97-165, jscheib@mit.edu

21W: Writing and Humanistic Studies

Prof. Ed Schiappa, 14E-303, schiappa@mit.edu

22: Nuclear Science and Engineering

Prof. Michael Short, 24-204, hereiam@mit.edu

24-1: Philosophy

Prof. Justin Khoo, 32-D962, jkhoo@mit.edu

24-2: Linguistics

Prof. Donca Steriade, 32-D828, steriade@mit.edu

Archaeology

Mr. Max Price, 8-436, maxprice@mit.edu

CMS: Comparative Media Studies

Prof. James Paradis E15-328, jparadis​@mit.edu

History of Architecture and Art

Prof. Lauren Jacobi, 3-305A, ljacobi@mit.edu

Psychology

Prof. Laura Schulz, 46-4011B, lschulz@mit.edu

STS: Science, Technology, and Society

Prof. William Deringer, E51-188, deringer@mit.edu

Women's and Gender Studies

Prof. Elizabeth Wood, 617-253-3-3060, E51-282, elizwood@mit.edu

For information on Humanities, Arts, and Social Science (HASS) Transfer Credit Examiners in fields not listed above, see the full list on the HASS website.